Geek Chic: $39 Dollar Glasses Review

by Ashley on May 8, 2012

39 dollar glasses, 39 dollar glasses review, mens eye glasses, horn rimmed glasses

The last time I bought glasses, it cost me nearly $500. This was with insurance, at Mr. Big Box Glass Shop (you know the one, in the mall). I picked out a new pair of frames, and then opted to have the frames changed in my old glasses — a pair for work and a pair for home. This would eliminate my issue of forgetting them at one place! I swallowed my pride, paid the $500, and swore I’d never pay that much for new glasses again.

When $39 Dollar Glasses got in touch about a review, they got me at just the right time: I’d been seriously jonesing for some men’s styled horned rimmed glasses (ala Noah Bennett and J. Edgar). Glasses, in my opinion, should be as much a fashionable accessory for a gal or gent as much as anything else.

noah bennet glasses, j. edgar glasses, horn rimmed glasses, ray ban glasses,

$39 a pop let’s the vision-challenged do that– $300 a pair does not!

My pick was the Laureate 4606 – something related to the horn rim, larger, and more masculine than I normally wear. Fashion friendly, vintage-inspired, and playful.  I’ve gotten TONS of compliments on them and have spread the word to my broke students looking for an inexpensive alternative to the eye doctor’s. (And I spotted Julia/Fashion Pulse Daily rocking a similar pair!)

The Deets about $39 Dollar Glasses:

  • Glasses range from $39-69 for frames.
  • Options for anti-reflective coating (a must for me since I spend so much time online!) is optional for $24.95. (In total, I think my glasses ended up being just under $85.)
  • When I got my glasses, I thought they seemed a bit flimsy. One of the lens wiggled a little in the frame and they seemed a bit creaky. I contacted $39 Dollar Glasses about this, and they sent a new pair out–which were perfect!
  • The ordering process was easy– I entered my prescription as given to me by my doctor; I measured my pupilary distance (with help).  In just days– perfect glasses.
  • The little touches: I appreciate, to a sickingly giddy extent, the fact that each pair of glasses came with a cleaning cloth AND A SCREWDRIVER. Never have I had a screwdriver for my glasses before, and it was this little touch that made me fall 100% in love with $39 Dollar Glasses.
  • Each frame is coded for which face shapes it fits best on & shows you an example– I only wish the glasses hadn’t been Photoshopped on to each model!  This feature was super useful for gauging how large a frame was on the face.

39 dollar glasses, 39 dollar glasses review, 39 dollar glasses laureate 4606
What route do you take when purchasing eye wear? Fancy & designer, inexpensive? Have you picked up a pair from $39 Dollar Glasses before? (I’ve got my eye on this fetching pair of brown & lime green glasses!)

{ 20 comments }

Sarah/Destrehan's Daughter May 8, 2012 at 9:25 am

I am really tempted to try one of these stores but I have a really good experience with the eyeglass provider I use. He is associated with my eye doctor and I have gone to him for years. I am also a little scared because my prescription is off the charts. Did they mention anything to you about high index lenses being a bunch extra?

Ashe May 8, 2012 at 9:30 am

You know, Sarah, they didn’t– and I’ll admit my prescription is pretty mild to boot.

I found this on the site, so hopefully it’ll help:
Clear Seiko® 1.67 Super High-Index Lenses
Seiko® 1.67 lenses are our lens of choice for those with very high prescriptions. They are thinner than any other 1.60/1.66 “high-index” or “thinnest” lenses others may sell. If you’ve never had 1.67-index lenses before, you’ll be surprised how thin your eyeglass lenses can be! They also come with both 100% UV and tough scratch-resistant coatings applied to both sides of the lenses, as well as polished lens edges, at no extra charge.

The lenses alone retail for over $125.00 . We are proud to offer them to you for only $29.95 additional, as a package including a new metal or plastic frame. Though they are generally recommended for prescriptions above +4.00/-6.00, they can make any prescription over +/-3.00 (especially in larger frames) look great!

If your prescription is over +3.00/-8.00 (or have over +/-3.00 cylinder) we custom-surface the lenses to make sure they look as thin as possible. Custom surfacing carries an additional charge of $39; we will contact you if your prescription falls outside these ranges.

That’s only listed in the single vision lenses though and not in bifocals….

Sarah/Destrehan's Daughter May 8, 2012 at 10:32 am

Thanks! I might have to see if they cover my prescription because I would really like a second pair for purely selfish fashion choice reasons.

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:33 am

Let me know what you hear– I’m sure others would love to know too!

(And it’s totally okay to want a second for selfish fashion reasons ;)

Sarah/Destrehan's Daughter May 15, 2012 at 10:21 am

I checked in with their customer service and my prescription barely falls outside their range. They can only create lens up to -12 and one eye for me is -12 and the other is -12.5. Still that’s pretty amazing. Since I am near-sighted that’s what I checked but if you move to the order page it will show you the limits for far-sightedness as well.

Robert October 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm

my intermediates are OD +2.25 OS +2.75 CYL +.50. Almost border line for the Super 1.67. The high index 1.61 perhaps would be a better choice.

Amy Nievera May 8, 2012 at 10:21 am

This is such a good idea! Unfortunately my prescription is in the stratosphere; $39 Dollar Glasses doesn’t make lenses that high. :(

You look super cute in your HRG!

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:34 am

Boo– that’s good to know, though! What’s your prescription like? (In case others want to know if theirs would be covered?)

And thanks, honey!

Wandergirl May 8, 2012 at 10:46 am

Cute! I recently got a pair of $39 glasses, though from a different company. The glasses were “free” but I had to pay for fancy stuff (like non-reflective lenses) and shipping. Anyway, it’s nice to have an extra pair that’s more about style than practicality. I love them!

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:35 am

What company did you go through? I’d love to see their offerings, too!

Wandergirl May 11, 2012 at 12:42 pm

clearlycontacts.ca – They offer a free pair to first time customers. It’s a Canadian company though so I’m not sure if it still applies to American customers?

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 12:50 pm

It’s great to have though– several of the other people who commented are from Canada, so it’s great to have that resource for them as well!

Lara Eichhorn May 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Those glasses are freakin’ adorable on you. I really need/want new glasses too and can’t afford any. I’ll check them out.

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:35 am

Definitely check them out– I’d love to know what you thought and whether they ship to Canada, too! (Because I didn’t look.)

julia dinardo May 8, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Ashe! I’m so glad I got you hooked on the site! :) Those glasses look AWESOME on you!

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:36 am

Just like your similar ones look awesome on you! It’s amazing how such a male geek chic frame can look so fab on ladies.

julia dinardo May 11, 2012 at 10:38 am

Awe thanks, and agreed- although the size of the lens has to be the right balance; I think it can’t be too too square or too big to look complimentary.

For Those About To Shop May 8, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Eye check-ups are no longer free for adults in Canada so I haven’t had mine checked in a few years, although I take my kids every year. This service makes me want to get a check up and get some new frames! (which I should be doing anyway)

Ashe May 11, 2012 at 10:37 am

Man, I wish eye check-ups were free here! It’s a shame they discontinued the service for adults, too. Are they really expensive? If it makes you feel better, I’m really bad about going to the dentist for check-ups– I desperately need to do that!

Mar January 30, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Thanks for the advice. I’m ordering a pair of glasses from 39dollarglasses and I wanted to make sure they’re legit. Now I’ve got high hopes. Coincidence: I’m buying the same glasses you got. I’m hoping they work on my boyish face as well as they do on yours.

Previous post:

Next post: